manufacturing industries made by Nova Scotia; the watershed surveys made by Ontario; and the economic, sanitation and ground-level survey of the area adjacent to Charlottetown made by Prince Edward Island.

Provincial assistance to research has been increased as a result of greater interest of the provinces in the ways and means of making a more effective utilization of their resources. Before the War, only Ontario and Alberta had independent scientific research councils and Nova Scotia had an economic research council. Ontario's Research Foundation, which is concerned primarily with applied research, is now complemented by the Ontario Research Council, while British Columbia and Nova Scotia have set up research councils, with the council of the latter Province combining with scientific research the economic research formerly undertaken by the Province's Economic Research Council. New Brunswick has reconstituted its Forest Operations Commission with wider terms of reference as the Natural Resources Development Board. Saskatchewan's Department of Reconstruction and Rehabilitation has established an investigational laboratory.

To encourage industries to locate within their borders and to help find markets for each province's own products, all provinces carry on a certain amount of promotional work. This work is frequently associated with the promotion of tourist All provinces had agencies responsible for publicity work and the encouragement of tourist travel before the War. Certain significant administrative changes have been made since the end of the War: Ontario has raised its Bureau of Travel and Publicity to the status of a Department; Manitoba's Department of Mines and Natural Resources has added a Bureau of Travel and Publicity to work closely with the Bureau of Industry and Commerce; Nova Scotia has transferred its Bureau of Information from the Department of Highways and Public Works to the Department of Trade and Industry, which was known for several years prior to 1948 as the Department of Industries and Publicity; Alberta's Publicity and Travel Bureau has been transferred from the Department of Trade and Industry to the Department of Economic Affairs. In 1948, resident representatives were being maintained by Ontario, Saskatchewan and British Columbia in the United Kingdom, and Alberta was contemplating a similar move. Representatives were also placed in Ottawa by Quebec and Alberta; in Toronto by Alberta; and in New York, U.S.A., by Quebec.

As part of their interest in the encouragement of industry, all the provinces have given increased attention to the extension of electric power facilities, particularly to smaller urban centres and rural areas. Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Alberta and British Columbia made legislative provision during the war years for power commissions to produce and distribute electric energy. The other five provinces have commissions which pre-date the War. Quebec created a Department of Hydraulic Resources; the Commissioner of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission became a member of the Province's Executive Council, and Saskatchewan and Quebec established committees on rural electrification.